My 99 Tahoe's AC is cold up front but hot in the rear

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hekg

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm trying to figure out if I can fix my rear AC because it's extremely hot down here in South Florida and my two year old boy gets hit in the face with hot air when I attempt to cool him down in the back however my front AC vents blow nice and cold for me.

Where should I start looking first? I just picked up a set of AC gauges and hoses as well as some cans of R134a refrigerant at Harbor Freight. This is my first time doing thing so I don't want to just start adding freon to the system.

L31MaxExpress

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm trying to figure out if I can fix my rear AC because it's extremely hot down here in South Florida and my two year old boy gets hit in the face with hot air when I attempt to cool him down in the back however my front AC vents blow nice and cold for me.

Where should I start looking first? I just picked up a set of AC gauges and hoses as well as some cans of R134a refrigerant at Harbor Freight. This is my first time doing thing so I don't want to just start adding freon to the system.
That one is easy. The expansion valve in the rear is either plugged up with crap or otherwise stuck closed or potentially even the lines under the truck are damaged or have become obstructed internally. Either way its a restriction in the rear refrigerant loop.

On a system that has an orifice tube up front and an expansion valve in the rear, if the refrigerant level is low, the expansion valve will open fully, hog all the refrigerant flow and the rear will be ice cold while the front is warm. Tahoes do not have rear heat, so there are no blend doors to act up.

L31MaxExpress

I'm Awesome
Reaction score