motor clean up

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Chad

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
can someone help me with what i can and can't move off of my motor. this is my first time and i don't know where to start.

Swims350

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
sounds like you're doing what I been doing.

I got a thread in the engine section called underhood de clutter or cleanup and chrome or something like that.

You can remove a/c if you don't need it, but you need a bypass pulley or non ac bracket setup. I got a non a/c steel bracket setup, which only 88 and some 89's and such had. Not sure on the alum. brackets.

That bracket beside the tbi if you have a tbi truck, all them things can be moved. I reloacted the MAP sensor, esc module and coil, removed the tbi ring, did an open element air cleaner, moved the computer ground and going to switch to a bolt on chrome water neck instead of the studs and factory neck. I also removed the plugins that were not being used. I removed my egr, but we don't have emissions to pass, and I heard it causes the check engine light to come on and stay on, so far mine hasn't. I don't think I have a 195 t-stat though and could be why it doesn't set the egr code. So with that removed I took it's solenoid off that bracket and throw it in the storage building outside.

I'm doing this for a cleaner look, not sure if you're just looking to do the same or to just clean things with like degreaser and what not?

my thread....

http://www.gmt400.com/forum/showthread.php?3438-underhood-clean-up-and-declutter-plus-chrome.

93blackthunder

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I cannot remove the ring on the tbi unit cause my filter won't fit cause of the coolant hose how yall getting around that

Swims350

I'm Awesome
Reaction score