Calling all gear ratio wizards.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

R422b

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I am looking at all my options for replacing the 4l60e in my truck and although it isn't a gmt400 I haven't found another truck forum I like as much as this e so I figured I would just not mention the specifics of the truck and just discuss the parts that are applicable to gmt400s as well as my truck.
How do these combinations look to you?
You must be registered for see images attach

R422b

I'm Awesome
Reaction score

R422b

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I am not very experienced with manual transmissions so I am wondering if these ratios would work with a stock 5.3

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
What vehicle is this going into?

A light car it may be fine but 1st is awfully long and 6th is also pretty steep unless your running it for gas mileage going 75-80mph. I'd run 4.10s with that trans personally. Running in stop and go traffic would be painful.

Edit, a 5.3 likes to rev. Try to target around 2400-2500rpm at 80-85mph if not more.

R422b

I'm Awesome
Reaction score

R422b

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
What vehicle is this going into?

A light car it may be fine but 1st is awfully long and 6th is also pretty steep unless your running it for gas mileage going 75-80mph. I'd run 4.10s with that trans personally. Running in stop and go traffic would be painful.

Edit, a 5.3 likes to rev. Try to target around 2400-2500rpm at 80-85mph if not more.