98 Z71 Silverado Beginner Build (INTRODUCTION)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CruiseLifeB

Reaction score
Hello Happy to be here
Got my first truck a couple months ago.
300K + miles
3” Body Lift
New trans & new engine about 40K miles ago (claimed the seller)
Starts great and strong Every time .
Took it to a Mechanic at time of purchase for a once over he told me the front end needed to be completely redone. & he took out the front driveshaft out (I have it) because the U-Joints we in horrible condition & at risk of failing. Had a wedding almost a month ago, and finally have settled down and have the time to work on it. I have little experience with cars and no mechanical experience (changing headlights, tail lights, temp sensors, tires, etc mostly cosmetic stuff)
I will be mainly using as a Farm/Work truck & some Hauling. But I do have a love for classics & I would like to completely refurbish the truck if time and money allows, maybe even have it be the first truck my young daughters learn to drive God willing . Happy to be here looking forward to learning a lot. Will be getting my U-Joints in this week so I will be posting again soon

Attachments

• 2EAEC20C-A1C6-4C90-8E81-8D938A37D1C6.jpeg
    2EAEC20C-A1C6-4C90-8E81-8D938A37D1C6.jpeg
    709.1 KB · Views: 18

CruiseLifeB

Reaction score
Welcome. What’s the plans for it?
Mainly will be a farm/work truck and some hauling For now, but I still would like it to be a pretty nice truck by the time I’m finished playing with it. I would like to get it mechanically sound first with basic parts before I think about custom mechanics, then start on cosmetics body and interior.

HotWheelsBurban

Gotta have 4 doors..... Rawhide, TOTY 2023!
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum, from Houston, Texas.