96 vortec need insight mpg low end torque

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

joshk1500

Reaction score
ok new to here and forums in general. I have a new to me 1996 ecsb k1500 108k mi . its a solid truck but needs some help . exhaust leak crusty brakelines loose steering and a little body rot (ohio) what I would like is help on a decent cost effective setup for towing and hiway mpgs. looking for torque

my plan is to get a set of 88-95 long tube headers or possibly the flowtech afterburners with y-pipe. into a nice sounding muffler out the stock location deleting the egr, cats, and rear o2 sensors? I realize I will need a tune, I have no knowledge of this so help would be great. also If I have to pay for a tune should I go ahead and put a cam in? do they make one for my need wants? if im off track let me know, .

my next attempt will be deleting the abs.

98_k1500

strange noises are normal
Reaction score
NBS master cylinder swap would be a good mod when you delete the ABS, AD244 alternator upgrade would also be a minimally invasive mod that really helps. Cam would be your choice, I wouldn go over an RV series cam tho. If you do the cam, you will have to pull the intake, which likely needs gaskets anyway, kinda kill 2 birds with that stone. Replace the timing cover if you pull it off, they are 1 time use.

joshk1500

Reaction score
do you have any experience with the abs delete? concerned about computer problems . and why upgrade the alternator? thought the same thing with the intake gasket bird.

98_k1500

Reaction score