96' K1500 5.7 no crank/no start after swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lazarus96

Reaction score
This has been a project truck for the better part of 3 years so I will attempt to keep it brief. Thanks in advance for any help/tips y'all can offer.

I bought this truck 4 years ago with a "mild misfire" that quickly went from a new cap, plugs, and wires to a full top end rebuild, valve job, ect. That engine ran briefly, then lost compression in cylinders 4 and 6. I tore the top end back off, had the heads checked by a local shop and verified the heads were holding compression properly. At that point I didn't want to dive any deeper into bottom end rebuilding, I worked in a hydraulic repair shop then a machine shop for years, but I'm not a mechanic and I know when I'm outmatched. So I picked up a verified running donor engine and swapped it out.

*Note* I used the heads, both upper and lower intake, and water pump(new) off the old engine. I spent a boatload of time cleaning everything, putting a new spider in, gaskets, ect. So I figured why let it go to waste?

When we were lowering the engine in my dad was running the hoist and I was guiding it in. He twisted the handle the wrong way and dropped the ending about 6 inches into the bay. It pinched a couple wires, broke the distributor, and a fan blade dented the radiator but that was all I could find after inspection.

So I bolted it in, wired it up, filled fluids, fresh fuel, ect. Hit the key, all dash lights come on, fuel pump kicks, then nothing. The starter has juice, I replaced the Neutral safety switch(the connectors looked fine) and Ignition relay.
Still nothing.

So what would be your next move? I'm grasping at straws at this point.

*Attached pictures show results of testing all 4 female starter relay contacts in the fuse box.*

-Adam

Attachments