91 RCLB Z71

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Zseventy-one

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey fellow GMT folks. I'm a newbie to the forum but wanted to show off our old GMC. She's a 91 reg cab long bed my father purchased new in 91. About 10 years ago the motor let go with around 300k miles on it. (Sorry Dad...) We dropped another used 350 and she's still running to this day!

She's seen better days, but it's time to start slowly restoring it. Here are some photos.
You must be registered for see images attach

Zseventy-one

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Thanks!

Last weekend I managed to get it running. (Squirrel chewed up the starter wires) Drove it around for a couple hours and it ran ok. Noticed an odd clunking noise at idle which can't be good but seems to be coming from one of the pullies. Interior smells like mold, seat felt damp so need to source where the water or moisture is coming in and address that. Body needs some love, but was surprised the frame looked as good as it did. Has some surface rust but nothing a good POR-15 coating could handle.

Ordered new tailgate hinges last night, not really exciting but desperately need to stop the whole tailgate from popping out!

Pulled the free VIN decoder which I thought was pretty cool:
http://www.free-vin-decoder.com/vin/1GTDK14K2ME520254

Already memorized the LMC Truck parts catalogue! Caught my wife trying to throw it away! Not safe in the bathroom anymore, have to find a better hiding spot haha!

DerekTheGreat

Forum Regular
Reaction score
...Interior smells like mold, seat felt damp so need to source where the water or moisture is coming in and address that. Body needs some love, but was surprised the frame looked as good as it did. Has some surface rust but nothing a good POR-15 coating could handle...