1999 K3500 Brake Upgrade

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Hello.

i'm new to the K3500 platform and trying to research brake upgrades, but I'm not finding much out there.

Are there bolt on disc conversions or caliper/rotor bolt on upgrades?

I'm hoping to increase stopping power for highway useage while running larger tires. Suggestions are welcome.

andy396

GMT400 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Here’s a thread about upgrading the rear shoe to a GG friction compound. @Supercharged111 says they make a noticeable difference.

Most Aggressive Rear Shoes?
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/to...ar-Shoes?.48464/&share_type=t&link_source=app

Hopefully someone will start making the front pads in a GG compound soon.

If your truck isn’t a dually, you can easily upgrade to the dually calipers which have a slightly larger piston. That upgrade also must use the thicker dually rotor.

Beyond that I’m not sure, but I think it is possible to put GMT800 spindles on which gets you only slightly bigger rotors. There’s ball joint compatibility issues to deal with there. I’m pretty sure someone here has a write up on it.

A smaller piston master cylinder might be possible but as far as I know no one has explored that option for a K3500 with hydroboost.

Supercharged111

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
Here’s a thread about upgrading the rear shoe to a GG friction compound. @Supercharged111 says they make a noticeable difference.

Most Aggressive Rear Shoes?
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink/topic?share_fid=40934&share_tid=48464&url=https://www.gmt400.com/index.php?threads/Most-Aggressive-Rear-Shoes?.48464/&share_type=t&link_source=app

Hopefully someone will start making the front pads in a GG compound soon.