Writeup: Throttle Blade Removal Mod

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Vortec Lover

Behold the Beast
Reaction score
On the inside of your throttle-body is a little blade that swivels back and forth when you press down the gas pedal, letting more or less air into the engine. On the edge of the plate is a small lip, which slows down the airflow, making for slower accelerations (which some people like). Removing the blade makes throttle response faster and slightly more low end power due to the easier airflow.

I will do my best to make this easy to understand, and if you think I am dumbing it down, that's cuz you never know what people might need to know. There's a couple of things I wish I had known ahead of time.

I have never worked on a throttle-body before and I figured it out, so I'm sure any one else out there can.

ENGINES: '96+
TIME TO COMPLETE: -30 minutes

SUPPLIES: threadlocker, (and rivets if you want them)

1- Here is the engine bay as you should find it- I have already done the airtake-silencer mod, so that is why there is no air-silencer box in this Vortec.
You must be registered for see images attach

2- We have to get the air intake off, so just unscrew this big plastic wingnut.

3- She'll slide right off, allowing us to move on to the throttle-body

4- The enemy has been spotted.

5- Unclip these doo-dads from the right side of the TB, they just have little tabs you unhook

6- Now there is more than one way to go about this- we could take off the plate now and do our job, but we risk dropping screws into the intake- a risk that could cost you lots of time and $$$, so let's go the safe route and pull the TB off. (if you feel like being risky, skip to step 11)

You will find a 5/16" bolt here on the right-

and here on the left-