Starting issue after sitting over 15 minutes, P1351 code

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

adamwatson27

Reaction score
I've been battling a starting issue for almost two years with my 1998 K1500. I apologize for this being long winded but I will try to be a detailed as possible. It will start up perfect on a cold start and shows no signs of issues while driving. If it sits for 5 minutes, it will start up fine. If it sits longer than 15 minutes, it struggles to start. Here is a run down on my troubleshooting:

Issue began after I replaced my lower intake gaskets. During that process I determined my old fuel injection system was potentially leaking inside the intake so I switched to a MPFI system (Standard Ignition FJ504.) After reassembly the truck ran fine until I later discovered the starting issue triggering a P1351 code.

Replaced the Ignition control module (DELPHI DS10039) and ignition coil (NGK 48604.) Cleared the codes, tested it, same issue and same code came back.

Verified fuel pressure, seemed to be within spec and did not dip significantly enough during start up or running.

Truck has 200k miles, so I opted to change the distributor (UNITED MOTOR PRODUCTS 9362.) Verified the timing retard was within 2 degrees with my scan tool after installation, no change.

Took the pickup to a shop for troubleshooting. It was there for 2.5 weeks before they called to determine they could not pinpoint the issue. They had a theory there might be an issue with the fuel pump. Seemed unlikely since I replaced it and fuel filter roughly two years prior but I changed it out under warranty anyway. No change.