Rebuilding l460e

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jeck11

Reaction score
I've got a 98 with with 209 on her and still running strong. The only problem is the tranny is going out in it. While I was away at college my dad was driving it and noticed that the engine wound dance up and down about 100 rpm's when when cruising from about 45 - 65 mph. Its been doing it for about 5 months and its time for it to get rebuilt while I'm home over spring break. I've got a few ideas of what the problem might be but I'm just not sure what it is and what all needs to be replaced. I'm not good with the electrical components on vehicles so I'm wondering if it could be something just electrical? If I could get your guy's input that would be great. Thanks

DGA1

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
It could be a problem in the valve body, the TCC valve wears out. Do a google search on TCC valve and 4L60E and you'll get tons of information on it. It's a cheap fix as well, not even a $20 parts, and you don't have to take the transmission out to install it, just pull the valve body.

You could try a cheap fix and see if it works, Lucas Transmission Fix. Costs you about $12-$13 dollars. I put this in my transmission and helped quite a bit with the symptoms it had.

http://www.lucasoil.com/products/display_products.sd?iid=29&catid=9&loc=show&headTitle= - Lucas Transmission Fix

Good luck.

///RAGMC

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
It could be a problem in the valve body, the TCC valve wears out. Do a google search on TCC valve and 4L60E and you'll get tons of information on it. It's a cheap fix as well, not even a $20 parts, and you don't have to take the transmission out to install it, just pull the valve body.