Need help with 4x4 actuator

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Just2Sweet

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I am trying to replace my actuator but I think I might have the wrong kind. Truck is a '97 K1500 with a floor shift 4wd, NOT the push button. I went to Advance and picked this up...

You must be registered for see images attach

So I'm looking underneath the truck trying to find the actuator (I have never worked on a 4x4 before) and I think I found it...

You must be registered for see images attach

Is that it, right in the middle of the pic? The reason I ask is that it looks nothing like the actuator I bought. I tried to remove it to get a better look but don't have the proper tools at my disposal.

I'm lost here. Help, anyone?

ChrisAU

War Damn Eagle
Reaction score
I believe it is actually in the passenger side of the differential? I haven't had the joy of changing one in years.

k_pro1992

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Thats it. I dont know if its the same kind you had or not i had to go to the junkyard to get one for my 97 cause no parts stores could get the right one

dirtridinz71

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
That is the actuator in your picture. You have a thermal actuator and the new one is electric. I do think they have a conversio wiring harness for the swap

trx88

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
the thermal ones take a cvnt hair longer to engage especially if its cold out..

if u have another vehicle take the parts with you to stores like that

also u can check to see if its the culprit by jumping a circuit to it off your battery..

its got two prongs for the wiring plug just touch pos/neg to them see if it slowly springs up

mgiht be a fuse

woody80z28

I'm Awesome
Reaction score