Hummer 4l80e and 1995 k3500

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rosco

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Going out on a limb here but it may be possible the military Humvee parts were made to a specific standard and not allowed to change over the years, to ease serviceability in the field and cut down on replacement parts inventory. Again, really stretching here as I have no direct knowledge, just a guess.

Richard

I think you're on to something. I was in the guard for a while, but the only knowledge I have of working on a humvee was when we would check the fluids, look for leaks, and drive them. They do all look alike and that makes sense that the military would do that to make field repairs easier. Be aware that some transmissions didn't have the "park" option. You put it in neutral and set the parking brake. I would also do a little more research on that tcase. Every mil spec humvee I've seen had no 2wd option. They were full time 4wd with low, neutral, high, and high lock options.

Cmstillwell67

Reaction score
Awd k3500!! Haha the 242 transfer case can be driven on the street in 4wd without hurting anything but I'm going to leave out the front drive shaft until winter. And your right about the park. I remember being in a hummer that you did have to set the parking brake but I think that is in the really old ones.

rosco

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The regular hummers we had had no park, but the up armored ones did. At least from what I remember. Most of the regular ones we had were a little older though.

Cmstillwell67

Reaction score