Got a truck, got questions. Total newbie questions....

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mudpie

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hi.

So first of all, I should probably say that I know nothing about Chevy's. I have an extensive automotive background, but my family always owned foreign cars when I was a kid, and I've been into V-dubs and Volvo's as an adult.

I got a deal I couldn't pass up on a '96 C2500.

You must be registered for see images attach

The tag on the door indicates that it was originally sold as a cab and chassis, but I can't read any of the hand written "fill in the blanks" spots on the tag. I looked up all the RPO codes on the glove box tag to try and figure out what I've got. Based on that, I believe it's an HD. It's got 443k miles on it, but the previous owner maintained it extremely well. I haven't done a compression test yet, but it fires up instantly, runs strong, and shifts well through all the gears. It backfires some at about half throttle, but I've got a code for the MAF sensor. I'm going to spray some cleaner at it and see if that fixes it. If not, I'll replace it. I also have a code P1345. I'm still looking into what that one means.

I don't intend to drive the truck more than a few thousand miles a year, but 99% of those miles will be with a load. I need the truck to haul a tractor around town for landscape work. The tractor and trailer combined are about 6500 pounds, plus maybe 1000 pounds of stuff in the bed.

So, my questions...

Regardless of how it's been maintained, it's obviously got a whole lot of miles on it. Aside from the normal tune-up and fluid checking/replacing, is there anything specific to this engine and trans that I should be checking? Any common trouble spots?

With the miles, should I be thinking about the timing chain as the cause of the P1345 code? Any other suggestions on that one?