Das ****** Schnitzel

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MrPink

Bainisteoir Páirteanna
Reaction score
Oh snap... yeah, went back to a schnitzel mobile. I got a really good deal on what I thought was a 2.0L non-turbo when I saw the add for the car(only had exterior pictures), never asked just assumed but got there to pick the car up and bam 1.8T under the hood with a 2" stack of maintenance records dating back to 2010, with timing/water pump being done 36k ago.

The car itself is a 2001 Jetta GLS, in Baltic Green with Tan interior. This marks Jetta/Golf/Beetle(MK4) platform vehicle #11 for me. 1st green one, and 14th VW/Audi vehicle over all.

For those that know my past I was a VW/Audi/Porsche tech for many years. These are the vehicles that I am the most comfortable around. This car will be a bit different than most projects as it won't initially get worked on besides a list of things it will need to be 100% til spring.

My son is due to make his Grand appearance in 2wks. I want to spend as much time with him and my family as I can.

Now the reason I got such a killer deal on this is that the gentleman's daughter hit a deer and with 224k on the car they were just done with putting money into a 21yr old car.

I however was looking initially for a rwd/awd I6 powered sedan/wagon but decided to go back to what I was comfortable with, and here we are.

You must be registered for see images attach

xXxPARAGONxXx

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
As a tech I worked on a used VW one time — I'm pretty sure it was a VW — and when I saw that it used 12-point triple square bolts for the CV shaft flanges, I grew a great hatred for anything VW. :) It's just the fact of coughing up money for a tool that I would never use again for a car that I didn't even want to work on (I was a Honda tech at the time).

454cid

Sooper Pooper