Need opinions on engine ideas

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

The Arctic Fox

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Alright First off I am by no means an engine expert. I think a 10 year old growing up with mechanics in the background would know more about the inside the engine then I do. :lol: With that being said, I have a few options I've been told and have thought of.

First, rebuild what I got which is a 1989 350 TBI with 217k miles on it. The truck sat for about a year before I bought it. My buddy was saying I could get all aftermarket rods, pistons, valves, the works and boost my horsepower from around 180 to 280 hp, but that's about it.

He also mentioned turning it into a carburetor, which he says would pretty much take out all the vacuum hoses and simplify the wiring from the TBI. It would also provide many more upgrades for my engine and even make my exhaust sound better than it does, which I believe. haha

Another is put a vortec but we both kinda shrugged that off as it sounds like a huge hassle to put all new wiring in. Still an option though, if anybody has really good/bad info/stories about changing from TBI to vortec.

Here's the option I like, which was to get a completely brand new stock 5.7 crate from Weir Chevrolet dealership in Red Bud for around $2k. I was thinking of maybe making it a lil more pretty under the hood in the process and paint a few things.

Any ideas suggestions or comments would be appreciated. Thanks!

MSCustoms

Its not just a Truck
Reaction score
I vote going with a crate engine that had some performance upgrades to it and staying with the TBI. The stock 350 engine in my K5 was replaced by a 350 crate motor with forged parts, higher compression, better cam, port and polished heads, and some kind of non-stick oil coating to the inside. I think it produces around 350 hp but not totally sure.