Cant pinpoint poor acceleration/ bad shifts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tjh1127

Reaction score
I just got my truck and im fairly new to these trucks when it comes to identifying common problems.
1995 c1500 RCSB 5.7 TBI 170,000 miles

Had the trans flushed and filled (didnt drop the pan) at the oil change shop along with synthetic oil. Had timing checked and advanced a touch from where ever it was(by mechanics recommendation).

Put in lucas stop slip and injector cleaner trying to determine a simple solution.

The problem is this. A. NO POWER, its so weak, my 93 blazer s10 has more torque and power than this thing by a lot. You floor it and barely move at all, and while its still warming up if you hit the gas it actually seems to bog down heavily.... B. Truck wont shift while accelerating, will rev all the way through the red zone and wont shift until i lift off of the gas. I got nothing.

I cant determine if the problem is in the trans or in the engine, seems more engine to me but, I'm a change my own brakes level mechanic so need some major help! lol

someotherguy

Truly Awesome
Reaction score
1 - 170,000 miles

2 - Had the trans flushed and filled (didnt drop the pan)

3 - Had timing checked and advanced a touch from where ever it was(by mechanics recommendation).

4 - Put in lucas stop slip

Go ahead and give it 5 - blast it with a few 12 gauge slugs through the radiator...

Do you know your fuel pressure?

Do you know where the timing is actually set?

Why would anybody flush to begin with, and even worse, not drop the pan FIRST to inspect the amount of debris in it AND CHANGE THE FILTER???

Why put a nearly worthless band-aid product in trying to fix an undiagnosed problem?

Sorry if I sound harsh but you may have taken a simple problem (fuel pressure, bad TPS) and made it many, many times worse.