'98 K-3500 with 454 wont start, has spark and fuel pressure.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Blue66

Reaction score
Hi

I purchased non running 1998 Chevy Crew Cab 4x4 with a 454 and 4L80E. I bought it as a non running truck that was driven into storage last winter and would not start this spring. It has 60psi fuel pressure, and will start and run on a shot of either, so I'm assuming the injectors are not pulsing. I have had lots of experience with TBI engines but not as much with the vortech. All fuses and wiring looks ok.
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

-John

VorTecxas

American Nightmare
Reaction score
Did you check where the injector harness plugs into the main harness? If everything is hooked up then you may have a dead PCM

Blue66

Reaction score
Yes, all wiring and connections look fine. What triggers the injectors to fire, cam sensor? Could it be a bad cam sensor then?

Blue66

Reaction score
Update, this morning while cranking and watching the fuel pressure gauge, 1 or 2 of the injectors are pulsing. I determined this by listening to the engine fire each time the fuel pressure gauge drops for a second. Still starts using a shot of either but quickly runs out. So one or two cylinders are firing but not sure which ones. Will try and use a 12V test light to see. Does the upper plenum have to come off to test the injectors?

96Z71ECSB

Old Gearhead
Reaction score
I would start by checking fuses. Particularly the F.I. fuse (ECM1 at under hood fuse panel). I usually check all fuses under hood and under dash before moving on.
Then I would move on to fuel delivery.
If it starts on ether, then spark/sensors should be fine.

VorTecxas

American Nightmare
Reaction score
Does the upper plenum have to come off to test the injectors?