5.7 vortec bolt ons.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Yeah but after all of that is done I could of set a date and had the truck up on the dyno and tuned, seems more feasable especially since I'm a college student and bang for buck is a big deal. Just taking a rough estimate I would be looking at around 600-700 bucks to get my tune through BBP whereas I could drive 40 mins south to a tu er and have the tune and a few power runs for 450.

Sent from a ditch somewhere

What?? I just looked on BBP's site, the spare PCM for our trucks is only $50. All total for the tune from them you're looking at $290 including a spare. Free re-tunes for life. The CASE relearn is a 15 minute procedure that any shop with that scanner should do for less than an hour of labor even if they don't know you. Where are you pulling $6-700 from?

Last edited:

chrmaka

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I'm factoring in the 120$/hr labor rate at my dealership, gas, and diesel (I'd tow it there with my buddy's f350)

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
I'm factoring in the 120$/hr labor rate at my dealership, gas, and diesel (I'd tow it there with my buddy's f350)

Why would you have to tow anything? If you're talking about getting it to the shop for the CASE relearn you can just drive it there. There will be no negative effects from driving it with the CEL illuminated in this situation, it's basically just throwing a code because the new PCM needs to be paired to the truck. All you have to do to swap the PCMs is unplug the old and plug in the new.

EDIT - Also I'm sorry but if you're paying $120/hour labor that is terrible. Especially for a CASE relearn. We're talking about something that takes almost no time.

Last edited:

jlcms2007

Reaction score