first vehicle. 97' GMC build

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AlaskanTrucker379

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey guys. Im new to the GMT400 community. Ive always been a diesel guy but have recently purchased a 1997 GMC 1500 from a adult friend. (gas motor starts better in Alaskan winters) The paint is pretty ruff condition but everything else seems to be sound. Paid $3500 and only has 150,000 miles.

Ive had it two weeks and have already ordered clear front marker lights. They should be in shortly. I will be buying a billet grill and LED front signals.

I cleaned up the headlights and painted the Wiper arms so far. More soon to come. I would like this to turn into a build thread. Decided it would better to start it early and update as I go even though I haven't done much.

Anywho, pics....

When I first bought it on our tiltbed.

You must be registered for see images attach

Took the canopy off and hand washed it.

What do you guys think? I posted here because I want feedback and will need some help in the future :)

Going to look at a bumper on craigslist tomorrow, can you tell the current on is tweak a bit?

shelbyt.67

Weirdo
Reaction score
Welcome from Texas.

Nice find. Good lookin truck. If I may, the bumper may not need to be replaced, It could be a tweaked mount, which can be adjusted or re-bent. Also, I good first buy might be some new door latch and Strike pins.

Horns

Tiff's Wedding Crasher
Reaction score
:welcome: She's a clean rig for sure! I'll be looking forward to see what you do with it.

AlaskanTrucker379

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Welcome from Texas.

Nice find. Good lookin truck. If I may, the bumper may not need to be replaced, It could be a tweaked mount, which can be adjusted or re-bent. Also, I good first buy might be some new door latch and Strike pins.

Thanks everyone for the kind words.