Can I use a LS NV4500?

Discussion in 'Transmissions' started by Beeffajitas, Nov 13, 2017 at 5:29 PM.

  1. Beeffajitas

    Beeffajitas Newbie

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Location:
    South NH
    I've got a Vortec 454 and I'd like to swap in a NV4500 at some point. I've been seeing some LS based NV4500's on CL lately. Are the bellhousings or input shafts any different?
     
  2. Chewy1576

    Chewy1576 I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    87
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Location:
    Ogden, UT
    Bell housings should be similar enough to work, but you may need to look further into the input shaft.
     
  3. Nathaniel2g

    Nathaniel2g Rusty Islander

    Age:
    22
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island, Canada
    Bell housings are the same. They've been the same for all V8 Chevs for like a half a century. Input shafts are possibly the same, as the NV4500 would've been behind the 454 from the factory, would it not?
     
  4. Jhampton1985

    Jhampton1985 Newbie

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Monday
    Location:
    SC
    On my 96 c1500 can I use a split case 4l60e in place of my solid case 4l60e? If so then what do I do about the exposed lower section where the inspection plate would go? It's got the Vortec 5.0. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017 at 10:40 AM
  5. Beeffajitas

    Beeffajitas Newbie

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Location:
    South NH
  6. Supercharged111

    Supercharged111 I'm Awesome

    Age:
    35
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    340
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015

Share This Page