Oil type on new/rebuilt engine

What oil would YOU use in a brand new/rebuilt Vortec 350

• Synthetic Blend

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Cheapest Conventional - whatever's on sale at Walmart/Costco/Auto parts store that day

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mistaake

Reaction score
If you were to either put in a new engine or get the engine completely overhauled and rebuilt in a 1998 K1500 which type of oil would you run?

RyanMerrick

8 Lug
Reaction score
Amsoil, Royal Purple, or Mobil 1. I stick with Mobil 1 for all of my vehicles since its regularly on sale at Walmart for $23.88 for 5 quarts. For filters I use Royal Purple from Amazon.

mistaake

Reaction score
Keep in mind that I am not a mechanic nor do I pretend to know much about this type of science but my assumption is that a synthetic blend oil's main benefit over conventional is less wear when cold starting since synthetic oil flows better at all temperatures, and doesn't a majority of the wear on an engine occur during a cold start? If an engine is designed to run on conventional oil and can get to 200K miles on conventional oil then surely with a synthetic blend oil it can hit 300K miles no problem? Or is this completely false?

df2x4

4L60E Destroyer
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
Whenever I eventually have to rebuild, I'll be using Amsoil synthetic.

bluex

Mall Crawlin' ****!!!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Conventional for the first 500 miles then go synthetic if you want. A 98 should have a roller cam so no break in specific stuff would be needed. If for some reason you dont have a roller cam then you need the break in additive or break in oil for that first start up to break in the cam.

99'Subourbon

Longroof NOOA Member
Reaction score