Lifted Dually Suburban

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Cody_350

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
hey guys, sorry to be the noob here but I had a few questions on how to do my lifted dually suburban, first off, I have a 1999 OBS Chevrolet Suburban K2500, it has the 5.7L 350 small block in it. You may ask why I want to and honestly, it's because I can. I have the time, motivation and persistence to get things done but money is sorta an issue, I'm not wanting to do it cheap, that's why I came here. I don't plan on spending more than $10,000 though. First off, do I really need to swap my rear axle out with a 1 ton axle? Is there more width on a 1 ton axle that gives me the clearance I need or what? if so I'll go to a salvage yard to pick them up, after that I'll need to put new leaf springs under it right? a heavier one ton leaf spring? and obviously if i do the rear I'll have to do the front and have a 1 ton conversion on it as well, following with a upgraded master cylinder for the brakes. I plan on spending $1,500 more or less on that part, then I'll need the dually fenders, dually wheels, and 2 more tires to get it running. Am I missing something here? what else do I need to do? After I'm done converting it to a dually I'm going to put an 8" lift on it with 38x13.5x20 Toyo Open Country MT's on it. I have the money to do this right and I want to do it right, so please help me out if I'm missing something here. I know there's probably some opinions on this saying its stupid but I'm set on doing it. it's my build so please respect that, thanks a lot!!!

GMC Burbalade

Busy slacking
Reaction score
Front end is just spacers, unless you want to SAS it. (I have a set of the spacers if you can't find them local)