Headlights/Guages Flickering, A/C Compressor Won't Engage ARE THEY RELATED

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Morganne222

Reaction score
I am having some electrical issues in my truck, and am wondering if the problems are related.

I have badly flickering cluster lights, headlights that flicker but not noticeably (noticed only when assessing cluster light issue), and I am getting no a/c compressor clutch engagement unless I jump it manually.

Replaced the battery (2014 Fall)
Alternator is OE but have had it tested twice.
One =good.
Other = good but tech said "hardly noticeable" fluctuation only seen by computer testing.

I am hesitant to "shotgun" it due cost. Nor do I want to take it to a shop because they have to do a $200 A/C leak dye test by law in WI before they touch the unit.

I am a college student and would rather just spend the money on parts and invest time than diagnosis/labor/parts cost from shop. I am also a sophomore year engineering major specifying in mechanized systems so I enjoy this as well. I have an OK grasp on electrical systems, I can use a multimeter and understand diagrams but I like to understand what I am doing before I start fiddling with currents that could ruin my truck. I have tried a few things but I would like to be thorough.

-A/C Compressor Jump at the Accumulator, the clutch engaged.
-DIY Recharge to bring up pressure to eliminate the pressure cutout activation, no electrical engagement
also when the truck was turned off I noticed the pressure valves (low and high) were releasing pressurized air, I also didn't vacuum pump the system so I think that we pumped it a little high, as my boyfriend "knew what he was doing" and "did it before" same old same old lol.
-Replaced Pressure Switch as a precaution because I am able to jump the relay