4L80E Servo Replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reichling

Reaction score
Hello!

Before I start.. disclaimer I know absolutely nothing about transmissions but I am pretty good at following instructions. Also I am decent at taking stuff apart and putting it back together... for the most part.

I have a 1992 GMC K2500 with a 4L80E that has a really light reverse. It is an old county plow truck that is pretty beat cosmetically but only has 80k miles on it and engine runs strong. I use it to haul crap to/from my property but not looking to spend a ton of money on it. It was like this when I got it and I have been driving it like this for a few years. I just avoid using reverse. On a flat surface I can sort of reverse but really hard to get going. Once I get going though (like if I start nose up on a slight incline) I can keep going reverse no problem. Did a lot of reading on the subject and found it could either be a band of some sort that is worn out OR it is common for the reverse servo pin to get worn or sheered off. I can drive forward in all gears no problem including 1st.

From what I read the servo pin issue is fairly common and not incredibly hard to replace. I have already taken the truck to a transmission shop to attempt to diagnose whether or not it is the servo pin but didn't get a clear answer either way (full background story below). Decided to try the servo pin replacement myself to at least rule that out. Based on what I read all I had to do was drop the transmission pan and the servo pin was held in with 6 bolts. Sounded pretty easy and I found a replacement servo for cheap from Monster.