2017 L83 into 1997

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RaymondNoodle

Reaction score
Newbie here.

looking to gather some information on putting a 2017 L83 and 8l90 into a 1997 ext cab

I have found a little bit of information on the swap but I am still trying to gather more.

we have already purchased the Engine and transmission

my main concern is the wiring. I’d like a little more insight on what needs to stay and go on the factory harness.

Or If there is anyone that sells a direct plug and play set up I’d be willing to purchase one.

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’d like a little more insight on what needs to stay and go on the factory harness.
First Guess: It'll be easier to transfer the entire engine-transmission-computer and wire harness from the donor vehicle than to "fix" the existing harness. You're gonna need the original engine and trans computer(s); you might as well just grab the whole freakin' harness.

EDIT: Should say "You're gonna need the DONOR VEHICLE engine and trans computer(s); you might as well just grab the whole freakin' harness.

Last edited:

RaymondNoodle

Reaction score
First Guess: It'll be easier to transfer the entire engine-transmission-computer and wire harness from the donor vehicle than to "fix" the existing harness. You're gonna need the original engine and trans computer(s); you might as well just grab the whole freakin' harness.

We have the entire engine/trans harness out off the 2017. I’m talking about the 97

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
We have the entire engine/trans harness out off the 2017. I’m talking about the 97
Why keep the '97 engine-trans harness if you have the Donor-Vehicle engine-trans harness? If you've got the 2017 alternator and A/C compressor, you'd want 2017 wires to go with them.