What should I look for

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Greyguild

Reaction score
Hi All, I'm a 4x4 enthusiast but so far I had 1 Suzuki SideKick (too small for me) also 1 Grand Cherokee (too grandpa like)...

So now I'm looking to buy a Fullsize Chevy pickup... I have my eyes on this one :

1989 Silverado 1500 Stepside 4x4 (even with decal I do not know if it is a real Z71) with a 350 EFI and about 127500 Miles on the counter.
You must be registered for see images attach

Before throwing my money at the guy's face, what should I look for to maybe get the truck at a better price?
I already know the frame is junk : I have access to another one in a lot better shape and I'm also a welder by profession.
The floors and rocker panel are solid and the metal part of the bed seem ok from what I could see...

But other then that, I'm not sure what are the basic problems with those trucks...

Any help would be appreciated, thank you in advance

DonYukon

Dont stop until it sounds expensive
Reaction score
how much does he want ? and does everything work? engine , trans, 4x4 ect?

dirtridinz71

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The boxsides are fiberglass on the stepsides but the top box rails seem to rot out often.

Jack the front end of the truck up and check for play, wheel bearings, idler/pitman arms, tre's, balljoints and give the wheel a spin to see if binding in the cv's. Even with a new inspection sticker on my 98 when I checked it over before buying the idler arm was shot.

93SierraWT

Greater Made Chevy
Reaction score
If the frame is junk then I wouldn't even look at it. With the money you'd spend trying to fix all of the problems you'll find on that one, you could get yourself a decent truck.

ChrisAU

War Damn Eagle
Reaction score