TBi to carb?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jhicks

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Im currently running a terrible 4.3 (non-vortec) in my 94. Its a manual 5 speed btw.

I want to swap from the TBI 4.3 to the Carbed 350. I have a 350 that has been bored .30 over with a 283 cam, Edlebrock Performer X intake and a double roller timing chain. i want to put it in my truck but i want to have some kind of economy.

Im currently only getting around the 15 mpg range anyway in the 4.3, I want to take the cam out and replace it with a stock cam. So with the stock cam and the other mods, could i keep at least 15 mpgs? Im fairly new to the Chevy truck scene. I just recently got out of Hondas. any help would be appreciated.

TylerZ281500

Yukon Ridin High
Reaction score
explain the second paragraph? your 4.3L is cammed and you want to put the stock cam in yet you want to swap to a carbd 350?

or are we talking you want to take the cam out of the 350? whats the lift and everything on the current 350 cam, stock tbi cams are beyond crappy so are the heads and intake. stockwise that is. what heads are on the carbd engine?

theres many swaps to swap to carb but basically you need to adjust thottle cable, modify wiring harness(zip tie stuff out of the way) and youll need a fuel pressure regulator. now that is basic of the basic but do a search for some other threads and you can see what others have done.

15mpg on a 350 is probably not possible with city driving. a vortec 350 might, i dont see a carbd or tbi one doing it though. im no heavy foot and i only get 12-13.5 on a good day.

jhicks

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
im currently running a stock 4.3

i want to swap to the semi-built 350. just to remove the after-market cam so i have a chance to redeem some mpg.

i have no clue what the lift is on the cam.