"Old Red" 1994 K1500 Rebuild

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

94OldRed

Reaction score
Hello Everyone. I'm brand new to the site and would like to show everyone what I've been working on for the past 2 years.

First of all I've been a big fan of the GMT400 ever since I was a kid. The particular truck I've been working on has been in the family since 1994, when my dad bought it from his friend, who bought it from the dealer and drove it for 400 miles before letting it go.

When I started the project it had been driven by pretty much everyone in the family. She had 204k miles on her and the motor had plenty of life left in it, but it was definitely starting wear down. so the first order of business was to get the drive train back up to par.

You must be registered for see images attach

After tearing the motor all down we sent it to a family friend who owns a local machine shop. There it was bored and honed, crankshaft was ground, heads received a valve job, all new internals including: comp cam/lifters/rocker arms, new push rods, new valve springs, new pistons, along with other goodies. The trans was sent to another family friend for a complete rebuild. He knocked it out in a weekend so sadly, no pictures.

Just about put back together. New parts include: Edelbrock intake manifold, cfmtech TB, GM valve covers, and Flowtech headers.

Back in her home. I had wires running everywhere for a failed E-Fan setup. Just ended up going back to the mechanical fan, for now.

Everything turned out great on the motor. It pulls hard and shifts great. She's ready for another 200k miles now!