New Exhaust Advice

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Daniel9597

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Daniel and I am a newb. Plain and simple, I'm just starting out. I plan to redo the entire exhaust system on my 1989 Chevrolet K1500 Silverado RCLB with a stock 350 TBI soon, and I was wanting some advice from more experienced builders such as yourselves. I don't have a ton of money to throw around, so no headers or extreme upgrades. YET. I am currently planning to buy new manifolds with Fel-Pro gaskets and new hardware, of course. I plan to eliminate the Y-pipe and replace it with an X-pipe setup, with two Thunderbolt 3 catalytic converters after the X-pipe, then just keep it straight pipe all the way back to in front of the rear wheels, with resonator tips to top off the system. The whole system will be 3" pipe. All advice and input is greatly appreciated, a newb like me could use some advice. :) Thank you in advance.

Daniel9597

Reaction score
Sorry, I forgot to state that I will also be swapping to a 3 wire heated O2 sensor, and I am willing to consider all options that you guys and gals suggest. You have free reign, tell me what you believe will be best.

OutlawDrifter

Long Roof K2500 Driver
Reaction score
dual 3" is overkill. why buy new manifolds, when you can get some shorty or midlength headers for the same money?

a single 3" will make more usable power on your setup. if you stay with duals, use an h-pipe instead of an x. they are better for low end torque and make the exhaust sound deeper and less sport car'ish.

Daniel9597

Reaction score