Corvette Steering Box Swap?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LML Duramax 95 Z71

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
I don't much care for the sloppy, slow ratio, unresponsive steering in our beloved GMT400s. Has anyone ever swapped a cars steering box in or heard of it? In theory it would work to just swap the box but I'm no expert on the matter so I thought I'd ask. I was thinking obviously a Corvette steering box would be a much quicker ratio and far more responsive so if that could be put in place of the stocker, I feel that would work great. I'm a welder so I'm not opposed to fabrication work either. Any insight is appreciated

99'Subourbon

Longroof NOOA Member
Reaction score
You're asking for a roll over at that point. Taller tires, higher center of gravity, tighter turn ratio... spells disaster. Don't do it, imo.

Last edited:

99'Subourbon

Longroof NOOA Member
Reaction score
Somehow I'm pretty sure that if you drive the vehicle appropriately for the new steering system; you wouldn't roll over...
Well appropriately and out of your control, are two different things. Where I live, deer and elk will jump out right in front of you on the highway. One quick jerk and it's roll over you go.

Again, just IMO. Let us know how it works out if you do it.

Justin S

Truck Hoarder
Reaction score
You can get a quicker ratio steering box from a truck that has the ZQ8 rpo code, thats for the "Sport Chassis Package", all SS454s and most of the Sport Trucks came with that package. Just check your glove box to make sure you don't already have it, but I doubt it.

LML Duramax 95 Z71

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score