LS in 97k1500 parts list!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ehall8702

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I have a complete running,driving 01 suburban that's rusty asf! Motor runs great and trans shifts perfectly.i have been maintaining this suburban for a customer for 10 years now and they took good care of it. I literally got it for nothing. Checked rpo codes as at first my only interest was rear end ( gt4 g80) bc I wanted disc brakes wasn't sure if I was going to fab 4 link mounting plate and use factory setup or just weld perches on and use leaf setup already in my 97. Well now my urges have turned into LS swap, rear 4 link with airbags and 6" rcx lift, and gear change. I put a rebuilt 98 4l60e in my 97 and it's been solid so I have a choice between either trans to use. I have a floor shift tcase in my 97 and want to keep that, push button auto in suburban. Not sure if tcase is interchangeable or not, haven't looked too hard at it. Didn't pay attention to if it's a drive by wire or throttle cable but think it's cable. Didn't look at ecm but assume it's a 0411.
I am a mechanic and fabricator so crossmemeber issues and things like that aren't an issue.
Ideally I'd like to just put the 5.3 right to my existing drivetrain, worse case 5.3 and trans it's hooked to would go in, but don't want an auto tcase.
What is involved in mating 5.3 and my 98 trans? I know they bolt up but do I need an adapter or can I use flexplate from one or other and torque converter from one or other and not need to buy other parts?
I know I will have to get a tune , that was planned either way, I will have a full harness for the suburban too,but am thinking I will be able to merge the two harnesses to make it all work pretty easily.