Decent welder for a newbie?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bizzo15

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm thinking about picking up a welder when I get my income taxes this year. I'm a total newb when it comes to welding but I find more and more I need a welder especially for this truck since I'm going to do cab corners next year and a outer rocker. Plus I know it will come in handy for other projects. I'm not looking to get something real expensive to start out with since i'm a total newb. I was looking around and thinking about getting this one

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200403263_200403263

For one I need something that runs on 110 since that's all my place is wired for and the reviews for it seem decent. Think this would be a good welder for starting out and welding sheet metal like cab corners and such. I figure if I get good at welding I can always step up to a better welder down the road when I have my own house and a garage. Let me know what you guys think.

Swims350

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
used almost the same one on my cab corners, worked good. I think it'd be fine for a beginner on a tight budget. Mines an all power flux cored mig and runs about the same amps and all as that one. I'll have to dig up specs so you can compare, but we had never welded anything before and it was our first, worked good.

DRAGGIN95

Warranty Killer!
Super Moderator
Reaction score