gear ratio help for a newbie

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HiItsRem

Reaction score
I'm trying to build my truck to do a bit of drag racing, but, I want it to be a daily. I'm wanting to change my gear ratios out from a 2.72 to a 3.73 and I have no idea if I am supposed to change the t-case out if I swap gear ratios I know it's 1:1 but If I change the front and rear ratios would I need to do anything with the thing because on the tcase itself it says 2.72 and I have no idea if that is just a marking of the general gear ratio or not, I'm new to dealing with gear ratios and stuff like that and I've always heard growing up that once you change ratios you gotta replace the whole driveline and I'm just curious about that, I was hoping someone could help me on figuring out the best swap for a 10 bolt rear so I don't end up destroying my entire driveline. If anyone is curious it is a stock 4l60e K1500 1998 truck, if anyone asks for the sticker in the glovebox, good luck I have no idea what it says cause it's mostly scrubbed out and I can barely read any of the GM option codes. (I'm completely new to these kinds of specifics so please go easy on me) I know a fair amount of knowledge about these gmt400 trucks but the 4x4 driveline is where I don't know much about because I grew up in a 2wd 1ton that I spent a lot of time looking at and looking up info on

Sean Buick 76

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hi, no your axle ratios won’t be 2.73. Take a photo of the glovebox sticker which will list GT-4 or GT-5 etc for the gear ratio in the axles. If your actually drag racing then switching to 4.56 gears is typically the best bet unless you are making big power in which case a 4.10 gear can work well. Over 600 HP the 3.73 gear is fine.

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score