Will a superduty axle work?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

shrekmoose

Reaction score
I have a 92 ecsb 4x4 i have been throwing around and researching an sas for about 2 years for now. Finally got to looking under the front of the truck and kinda putting 2 and 2 together and noticed my frame was bent. Where the factory tow hooks mount inside the front of the frame it looks like someone before me ran into something with the tow hook and bent the bottom of the frame rail up some. Its not bad compared to the other side i would say its bent maybe .25 inch give or take. Now the problem is my plan was to use factory hangers for the front hangers welded to the bottom of my frame and a crossmember to support the front end. I would assume I couldnt use that now because of the bend but what about using a supperduty axle with the wider spring perch widths that way my hangers would be on the outside of the frame rails hence the tweak may not matter. What other problem may I run into doing it this way? Is there anyone with a build thread with a supperduty ale I can get some ideas from, I cant find one to save my life but I see the idea thrown around alot.

jps4jeep

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
99+ super duties..

F250 was leafsprung then switched to coils and radius arms. The F250 is a D50, unit bearing axle. not a bad axle, aftermarket is embracing them more and more. Kinda smallish pinion and the inner shafts neck down to about D44 diameter. The outers are pretty much identifcal to the D60's of that era, 35 spline outers (switched in 04 or 05 and later at least)large D60 u-joints and larger brakes. The ball joints do not leave much to be desired, assuming your not going over 35-36" tire on a heavy full size rig, the axle should live a happy life. Also the diff is very far to the drivers side so mounting bracketry can be difficult.