vortec intake manifold question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

xtreme.97

Reaction score
aight guys i think i'm in over my head. so basically, my intake manifold gasket was leaking, pouring coolant into the oil. i bought the felpro kit and started pulling everything apart. now i'm no mechanic by any means, but i know how to use a wrench (more into the suspension/wheels/tires part of it cuz thats what i do for a living). long story short, the quick disconnect fitting broke off in the manifold (yes, i know!). problem is, the previous owner apparently had a leak and used solder to seal it so after i got the rest of the fitting out of the manifold, there is still all the solder in the threads. my truck never did get good mpg (its on 37s) so this got me thinking instead of dealing with trying to tap out solder, just replace the manifold (great opportunity to upgrade to a performance part right?). but i can't find anything. this seems to be kind of an in depth issue. i'm not racing the truck, just thinking about replacing the intake manifold because of the broken fitting and trying to see if i could pick up a few ponies/mpgs without going to far (marine manifold is out of the question). any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! and sorry for the long post, just had to vent a little!

Markv

Reaction score
Are u talking about the water inlet at the back of the intake?

xtreme.97

Reaction score