Vortec intake manifold pitting

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

97-2door

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm in the process of putting a new crate engine in my 1997 Tahoe. I'm going with a stock 5.7 Vortec (L31), but I need to re-use the intake manifold from my old engine. The intake manifold was not leaking when I removed it. After cleaning it up, I noticed pitting around most of the ports, but especially around the front driver's side water port. I tried to get a few good pictures. I really don't have a good frame of reference, as I've never done this before. Is some pitting okay? The one corner around the water port definitely seems excessive, but I'd like to get some other opinions. I'm planning to use the Fel-Pro gaskets that are metal with black rubber molded on them. The Fel-Pro instructions say that if pitting is "severe" they recommend having the manifold re-surfaced. They state you can use epoxy. I just want to make sure I do this right the first time. If I need to get it resurfaced, I'm not even sure there is a machine shop near me (eastern NC) that I would trust to do this right. I guess I could try to find another manifold in a junk yard or eBay. Pictures I've looked at on eBay tend to have some pitting also. Really just looking for opinions on how bad this is and what my best options may be. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_0819.jpeg
    IMG_0819.jpeg
    709 KB · Views: 52
  • IMG_0820.jpeg
    IMG_0820.jpeg
    701.9 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_0821.jpeg
    IMG_0821.jpeg
    696.5 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_0822.jpeg
    IMG_0822.jpeg
    606.2 KB · Views: 49

RichLo

E I E I O
Reaction score
I'm a fan of epoxy but for that I also would just run RTV.

Milling would be best but if you dont trust local machine shops, they can F up the angle and you'll be worse off. Junkyard manifold will be a gamble.