Tire PSI for hauling firewood

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Komet

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to load up all my firewood to move it to my new place, and the last detail is to pick my tire pressures. It's about one cord, I figure it's going to be roughly 2.5k lbs in the truck bed.

Truck is a 1992 K2500 6 lug unit, tires are 265/75R16 BFG A/T load range E1 tires. Max PSI is listed at 80. I've been running them unloaded at 50psi and they seem properly inflated for light / no load.

I should inflate them to 80 PSI front and rear for hauling the load, right? Or is it just the rear tires? I'm new to doing heavy stuff.

South VA

K2500 454 Long Roof
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm getting ready to load up all my firewood to move it to my new place, and the last detail is to pick my tire pressures. It's about one cord, I figure it's going to be roughly 2.5k lbs in the truck bed.

Truck is a 1992 K2500 6 lug unit, tires are 265/75R16 BFG A/T load range E1 tires. Max PSI is listed at 80. I've been running them unloaded at 50psi and they seem properly inflated for light / no load.

I should inflate them to 80 PSI front and rear for hauling the load, right? Or is it just the rear tires? I'm new to doing heavy stuff.
I’d think just the rear. For example, the recommended PSI on my K2500 Suburban for fully loaded is 50 front/80 rear, and 40 front/50 rear unloaded. The weight on the front wheels doesn’t increase as much as the on the rear; hence, the difference in pressure.

Although 80 in front wouldn’t hurt E-Rated tires, steering, handling, and braking should be better at 50 than 80 in the front, I would think.

movietvet

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score