Finally built a workshop! Ideas/opinions welcome!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BoxerPitMix

Chris
Reaction score
Planned on waiting until I moved back to Kentucky, but I think it'll just add to the resale of this house. I finally built a shop to play in! Hope you guys don't mind me sharing this here! Pretty proud of it! And don't really know anyone here since I moved to Texas... Had to share it with somebody! lol Also looking for ideas!
Actually had it built a few months ago, but I've been playing with it on the weekends and it's finally starting to come together.
It's 38'x60' - not including the horse run on the side. I was an independent contractor for years and really wish I could have built it myself as I would have saved a ton of $$$, but I really just don't have the time - not to mention I still don't know anyone around here to hire for help.

You must be registered for see images attach

The idea is just have a space large enough to easily store all my junk. I put a side door in the rear right side with a ramp so that I could back the horse trailer against the back wall and out of the way. It's also a piece of cake compared to backing in the front and then trying to position it against one of the side walls. Depending on how long I plan on staying here in Texas, I would LOVE to have a car lift in there one day!!!

Next came the lighting... I'm a little obsessive when it comes to lights - especially if it's somewhere I plan on working. I do a ton of woodworking as well as wrenching on my junk and I wanted a well lit area to do it in.
I picked these up on Craigslist. $100 for all 6! 1,000 watt metal halides. Not the most efficient, but then again they're not going to be run all week... Maybe average a few hours on a weekend. Bulbs weren't cheap!