Did my Transmission tech make a mistake?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Travis_Culler

Reaction score
So I just had this 700R4 rebuilt for my '88 SBC 350 2500. I went to slide the Yoke in for the drive shaft, and I was bumping into something at 2" depth on my Yoke. So I thought I either have a burr on a shaft spline, or maybe im catching the edge of the bushing. Anyway, I pull the Tail housing off, and this sleeve has been inserted on the front splines. The sleeve is flared toward the rear, and the end of my yoke seats perfectly into the flare. But my yoke is nowhere near deep enough. Do I need to remove this sleeve and replace it with a shorter one or something?

Im not a seasoned mechanic and Im definitely not experienced in anything transmission related. Can somebody help me out here? Ive attached pictures of the Yoke seated to the sleeve with the tail housing on, and a picture of the output shaft.
You must be registered for see images attach

Travis_Culler

Reaction score
The sleeve is an oil slinger of sorts and should be installed all the way forward against the speedometer gear. If it's not, simply tap it forward unti it is. Yoke should then slide in to the proper extent.
Thanks Nick. I didn't realize it was sitting slightly cockeyed so after straightening it out, it slid right in. Appreciate the help!

Travis_Culler

Reaction score
You're welcome, Travis. Let us know how it shifts and such...
I wasnt able to drive it yesterday, I need to run to the hardware store and grab a throttle cable end clamp. My TV cable doesnt have enough tension so I'm going to correct that before my initial test drive.