A/C System Replace

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ram1220

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Hey guys. Long time lurker here. I have a 1990 GMC Sierra regular cab with the 5.7L engine. The truck is stock and has 154,000 miles on it. This truck runs as great as the day it came home from the dealer. But I am in Texas and it's getting hot. I have gone the past 3 summers without A/C but I finally have enough money saved up to fix the A/C. I am a disabled police officer but can do most of the work myself. But money is tight.
About 3 summers ago my compressor seized up. I pulled the old compressor and installed a bypass pulley due to lack of funds. I would like some advice as to what I will need. I am thinking that since the compressor seized I will need to replace everything from the firewall forward. This includes accumulator, high/low lines, compressor, and condenser. Orifice tube is in the condenser on this truck. I was also thinking about installing one of those inline filters to catch any junk before the compressor. I know I will need to vacuum out the system and recharge.
Can any one you think of something else I need to do or replace? Money is tight and I would like to do this right the first time. A shop quoted me $1200 and I just can't do that. I think I can do it myself for just under $500. Thanks.

kennythewelder

Officially Retired, B31-3 (6-G) certified welder.
Staff member
Super Moderator
Reaction score
You will need to flush out the system out the system with some ac flush, and an air compressor. Youtibr has great videos on how to fo this

MSCustoms

Its not just a Truck
Reaction score
Completely clean the entire system and replace the dryer as well

Ruger_556

I'm Awesome
Reaction score