Truth about code 32

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Portedfrankenstien

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
The Yukon throws code 32 anytime I maintain speed at, or above 55mph. Now, I understand how EGR works, I've been a technician for many years. However, I've never heard of relating exhaust back pressure being needed for an EGR to operate properly. Now, I know these EGRs are negative pressure EGRs, so I guess it makes sense in a way. My girlfriends brother owns a 95 k1500, so he has the same drivetrain as the Yukon. His EGR operates properly. I have cleaned mine out, and put a new gasket on it, to no avail. So I swapped EGR solenoids with his truck. No fix. So I then swapped EGR valves, and cleaned the one off if his truck out before installing it on the Yukon. Still, code 32. After doing some research, I have found a link where people are saying that if your exhaust is too free flowing, that the EGR cannot operate proper, due to lack of back pressure. I am running 3" exhaust, from y-pipe back. Running a 14" round body magnaflow, and obviously no cat. So, my question is this, is it true that my EGR isn't functioning how it should, due to being a negative pressure EGR, and lacking the back pressure?

Portedfrankenstien

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
And also, if this is true, is there any way that I can get my EGR to work properly, without putting a converter back in? I personally feel that an EGR valve is a great thing, and I won't be one of those who just puts a block off plate on.

Ruger_556

I'm Awesome
Reaction score