The Overhead Console Thread

Discussion in 'OEM and Custom Interiors' started by Bighead38, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. azblacksheep

    azblacksheep I'm Awesome

    Age:
    24
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Location:
    US
    Also, when im cutting the headliner for it, would it help to take the headliner that pre cut for it to use as a stencil? Or would i maybe be able to cannibalize it into my truck? Again, 91 RCSB.
    TIA

    Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk
     
  2. Dr.Zoom

    Dr.Zoom Hi Tech Redneck

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Just a couple screws to get it out. Give it a try on one at the junkyard that you're not going to take. That's one of the great things about a junkyard. Free trial runs where you can break someone else's stuff while you learn.
     
    azblacksheep likes this.
  3. Dr.Zoom

    Dr.Zoom Hi Tech Redneck

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    171
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Also you can put together the best of a couple units to get all the best pieces.
     
  4. azblacksheep

    azblacksheep I'm Awesome

    Age:
    24
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Location:
    US
    Exactly whatmy plans are. I snagged a homelink unit out of an esky for it. Always looking for other goodies to toss in too.

    Sent from my SM-J320P using Tapatalk
     
  5. Donnie Smith

    Donnie Smith Newbie

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Location:
    Georgetown, Tx
    OK I've read through all 23 pages of this post and either I'm just being thick and not understanding or it isn't clear. To hook up the map lights to work with the clicker lights, not the regular dome light, I just need to hook the orange wire from the console to the the wire for the clicker lights and the black wire from the console to ground. Correct? or do I need to connect it to the other wire on the clicker lights?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. Z71Hobbs

    Z71Hobbs I'm Awesome

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location:
    Clinton County, IL
    Really difficult...one screw at the front, tilt down, then forward.
     
  7. cburnscrx

    cburnscrx Newbie

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    I have a 1996 GMC Suburban with the climate control in the overhead console and am wondering what bulbs I need and how to do the led conversion. Any suggestions?
     
  8. Kenworth_W900L

    Kenworth_W900L Newbie

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    How is homelink wired up?
     
  9. Barrera92

    Barrera92 Newbie

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    I have a 1996 C1500 ext cab that used to have a custom overhead console. It was there when we bought it new. It is two maplights and a cigarette lighter and they all worked fine. It got pretty beat up so I took it down and got a stock overhead console instead. I got constant power from the dome light via the orange wire and ground from the white wire. I soldered in a two pin connector and plugged it to the stock connector on the console. The problem is the front maplights only work when I open the door or use the switch on the dash. They don’t work if I press the button on the console itself. This isn’t the case with the rear dome light. That works normally with no issues. Any ideas?

    Here is a video showing what I mean

     
  10. Jiggie

    Jiggie OBS Enthusiast

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    Location:
    Kansas
    Firing up an old thread here. I have a 99 obs burb with rear hvac and got a overhead console to install as mine doesn’t have one. Anyone on here done the swap in a burban and what needs done? I dont have any donors in the jy with the headliner still in to look at. Just not sure if i need to cut a hole in the headliner or not.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page