newbie questions for ls1 swap

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kewljay223

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
hello everyone. i know im a newbie and i have searched this forum and others and have gained quite a bit of info on this subject and as you know it is quite confusing due to all the different configurations. so to let you know from the get go im not the person who wants to be spoon fed. i would just like a straight answer or a point in the right direction. my question is, is there a checklist for parts needed for this kind of swap. i have a 95 c1500 with a 350 tbi thats on its last leg and i love any kind of challenge when it comes to a motor vehicle. i restored a 69 mustang from scratch so im not afraid of anything. but its smog exempt so i didnt have any worrys of what went under the hood. but for the truck i need a new motor reguardless due to the fact that the smog guy told me a month ago that i passed but i will not pass in two years.... :( good news i got two years to do this. lol bad news, it NEEDS to be done. and to me since it needs to be done, im gonna have some fun with it!! i want an ls and its in my head so thats it! ha! i just want to know what exactly is needed to perform the swap. i want to do it all legally going thru bar regs and all. im looking at the 01 ish years cuz they seem to be somewhat plentifull. is my question open ended because it matters which year ls i choose or do they all basically have the same requirements in sensors and parts like that? i want to look for everything i need, i just dont know what the total check list of parts that i need is.. can anyone shed some light on this? thanks in adcance!

kewljay223

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score