New Member From Michigan

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

lessersivad

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
So I was stumbling around on the interwebz when I ran across this site. Figured since I just purchased a '94 K1500 extended cab, short box I may as well try to pick up some tips from people with some experience on these trucks.

I'm not a complete novice when it comes to repairs and have a couple of older generation ('77 C10 Chevy, '85 K25 GMC) and found what I thought was a fair deal on the '94.

First major order of business with this 'new to me' purchase is going to be replacing the frame. I noticed before purchase the frame had a few scabs but didn't look all that bad. Not until the small air chisel practically fell thru the 'kick up' section behind the cab....DOH!!

Then using a borrowed needle scaler other areas (holes) were revealed to the point of either selling the truck for parts, attempting to fix the frame, or find a replacement.

So enough of the reason why I'm here.

I'm glad to find the forum for these trucks and I hope to learn and possibly contribute to the discussions.

GarrettGmc

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Welcome and that definitely sounds like some rust, I had a truck from Michigan and man that had some rust issues to. How's the cab an body

lessersivad

OBS Enthusiast
Reaction score
Thanks for the welcome Garrett.

The body needs some of what I call 'typical' metal thrown at it. Cab corners, rockers, front inner and outer fenders, etc.

Around here it's pretty much a given that some metal is going to need replaced. (Not really an issue as I've done 'on the side' body work for almost 40 years.)

Runs and shifts real good (131,*** miles). Drove it an hour to get home with no issues. (Those started AFTER 'poking it with a stick'....LOL.