Looking for the best PRACTICAL suspension set up for a c1500 work truck

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Brothajack93

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
I’m currently working on building a rusty old 1997 GMC Sierra c1500 (ext cab l, 6-1/2ft box with 5.0L 305 if it matters) into a work truck. I was planning to do light work and build it at a later time but given the amount of corrosion from Ontario, Canada winter conditions it appears I will have to be replacing all my bushings amongst many other things such as lines, body mount brackets in the bed section and bumper mounts at the front for safety. I’m sure I’ll find more as I continue to work on it but I intend to do an entire suspension overhaul/upgrade as soon as I am finished replacing all the lines. I work as a landscaper in the heavier construction side (paving stone, retaining walls, any kind of landscaping that requires tough men and big machines) and would like to build my suspension and brakes to handle a bit of cowboy landscaper abuse in the name of making money… I know a half ton with only 2 wheel drive has its limitations and I intend to respect them. But I’ve had a few of these trucks as did a lot of my friends in Alberta. They are still very popular as daily drivers out there. Let me be clear though. I’m not looking for some ********* build. I understand that things like coilover shocks can change your ride height a bit or that you can adjust the height slightly to suit your purposes but if it’s not going to help the truck handle more payload, tow better as well as handle better while doing so I’m not at all interested. So obviously since my main goal is payload and towing I’m obviously going to start with leaf springs. I also intend to do a sway bar install in the rear as well since I’ve heard they greatly improve handling so will be handy for towing. Does anyone have go