Is this axle bad? (95 C1500 2WD)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tireshark

Reaction score
95 C1500 2WD

Symptom was losing brake fluid. No noises, and the ride was smooth and straight. Had fluid on inside of rear tire, so ordered a wheel cylinder, but when I pulled the drum everything was covered in sludge, both ends of the cylinder were off, the friction material was completely off each shoe and in pieces, and the springs and adjuster were all loose in the drum... looked like a bomb went off, no idea why low brake fluid was the only symptom.

Anyway, I pulled the axle so I could replace the axle seal, and when inspecting the axle this is what I found. This is my first time messing with axles, so I dont know what is normal/acceptable. Here is a picture:

You must be registered for see images attach

The upper blue arrow I can feel, but my nail doesn't catch, and I'm assuming it's normal, but don't know. The lower blue arrow is a deep gouge almost all the way around... is that normal?

The yellow area is where I assume there is definitely an issue... it's slightly raised and catches my nail all the way around. Is this material that has transferred to the axle? Is it an issue? If so, can it be cleaned or resurfaced?

I have a 96 C1500 2WD that is broken down... if this axle is bad, can I use one out of that truck?

Thanks for any assistance!

tireshark

Reaction score
That axle shaft is hosed. How's the other side look?
I wasn't planning on removing it, but I guess I can take it out since I already have the diff cover off.

Are axles able to be resurfaced or anything? If not, do you think the axle in my 96 would work, assuming it's in good condition?

Schurkey

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Perhaps a moderator will move this thread out of ENGINES and into Axles + Brakes.