Hessitation/Stuttering/Grabbing I NEED HELP!!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bornchevy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score
Well since I got my suburban engine running decent I have been taking it back and forth to work and there I fount my new problem. I'm new to the IFS 4x4 setup so I have no experience with the front differential. While I'm driving after about 10 minuets or so every few minuets it feel like the front end is trying to engage but its only momentary. I honestly have no idea what it could be or where to post this. It grabs and stutters for a second then its fine, then a few minuets later it dose it again. This is also the push button auto 4x4 system. This is above my head, I have no idea what is going on and I'm completely confused. It doesn't seem like it could be an engine problem, could it be the trans or transfer case? Please help, if you have any questions or need more information, or pictures if needed let me know and I will tell you the best I can. I am not new to the gmt400 but its my first IFS 4x4.

1999 suburban k1500 350, 4l60e, auto 4x4

My last 2 trucks were a 88 Scottsdale eclb 350, and a 98 cclb dually 454. Never had this problem with those trucks so that's why I think this might be a 4x4 problem.

twomanymontes

car show addict
Reaction score
Kind of sounds like the Encoder motor on the transfer case is stuck between positions. When you change the 4WD positions, does the button lights flash? There might be a code stored in the transfercase module.

twomanymontes

car show addict
Reaction score
Come to think of it, The Actuator on the front axle might be bound up and not releasing completely as well.

bornchevy

I'm Awesome
Reaction score