Hello to everyone from Colorado

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

96Z71ECSB

Old Gearhead
Reaction score
Hello.
I figured it might be time to introduce myself. I’m sorry if this gets a little long winded.
My name is Lonnie and I live in Greeley, Colorado.
I am 50 years old and I’ve been an auto mechanic for 35+ years. I have also been deeply entrenched in the hot rod scene since before I could remember (40+ years). This gives me some definite opinions on what a car/truck should look and sound like.
I have owned some very nice cars/trucks in my life but my present ’96 GMC K1500 Z71 ECSB is the newest daily driver I have ever owned. My other vehicles have always been from the ‘60’s or early ‘70’s.
I have always been partial to GTO’s and I am restoring a ’69 GTO at the moment. It’s a running/rolling shell that’s almost ready for paint. It should be painted and put back together by late this summer.

Anyway, I’m trying to keep my ’96 GMC as close to stock as possible with just a few custom touches here and there. I’ve already added a dual flowmaster exhaust, a suburban overhead console w/homelink and a trans temp gauge, an auto dimming/compass/temp rear view mirror, clear headlights and turn signals, LED tail and third brake lights, upgraded alternator, B&M electronic shift improver, and an upgraded tow package (class IV hitch vs. stock class III).
It also has a fairly stout audio system and keyless entry.

I’ve owned it for about 6 years and I have always thought that GMT400’s are the best looking body style GM has ever produced.
Sorry, this is the only pic I have at the moment:
You must be registered for see images attach

Someday I would love to find a 2wd version of my truck so I could go all out with it (dropped, smooth-painted bumper, roll pan, etc.)