Edelbrock Cam in 454..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Big D

Atoadaso I f*kn Atoadaso
Reaction score
I came across the opportunity to purchase a cam and lifters for my 91 C3500 mark V 454

Edelbrock Performer BBC Cam 2162 (with hydraulic lifters) for the very low price of $40

im new to the big block game, I dont know what works and what
doesn't

im not looking for anything aggressive, just give this truck some movement above 3000-3500 rpm.

is this gonna bind the springs, any machine work needed? obviously a tune will be required, I will replace the distributor gear and timing chain as well.

can I just install this cam, break in and go?

here are the cam specs, the lobe separation seems wider then im use to seeing.

Summit Racing Part Number:EDL-2162

UPC:085347021628

Cam Style:Hydraulic flat tappet

Basic Operating RPM Range:Idle-5,500

Intake Duration at 050 inch Lift:218

Exhaust Duration at 050 inch Lift:228

Duration at 050 inch Lift:218 int./228 exh.

Advertised Intake Duration:292

Advertised Exhaust Duration:302

Advertised Duration:292 int./302 exh.

Intake Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio:0.500 in.

Exhaust Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio:0.500 in.

Valve Lift with Factory Rocker Arm Ratio:0.500 int./0.500 exh.

Lobe Separation (degrees):114

Computer-Controlled Compatible:No

Lifters Included:Yes

Lifter Style:Hydraulic flat tappet

Big D

Atoadaso I f*kn Atoadaso
Reaction score
After further research, thats most likely a negative, per the 454ss. com site.

source:

The production Gen V gig-block V8 introduced in 1991 uses a non-adjustable "net lash" valvetrain. This valvetrain uses shouldered bolts instead of threaded studs and adjusting nuts to retain the rocker arms.